AFRIFF’s Winners List

Coming on the heels of the successes of the recent third Africa International Film Festival (Afriff) held in Tinapa, Calabar, The Africa International Film Festival (AFRIFF) announced its 2013 winners at a press briefing in its Victoria Island, Lagos office. Speaking at on behalf of the festival, Keith Shiri, festival Programmer and the new Artistic Director, had this to “It’s been a great year for African Cinema and we are proud to announce our winners, we are extremely grateful to our 2013 Jury for all the work they put in watching films and reaching a decision, we are also grateful to UBA for its support and endowment of the awards and prizes.”

2013 WINNERS are as follows:

Best Feature Film – ‘Of Good Report’ by Jahmil XT Qubeka

Best Nigerian Feature & President Goodluck Jonathan Award for Most Authentic Nigerian Feature – ‘THE MEETING’ by Mildred Okwo

Best Director – Roberta Durrant for ‘Felix’

Best Film Screenplay – Inumber Number – Donovan Marsh

Best Actor – Desmond Elliot (Lies Men Tell)

Best Actress – Uche Jombo (Lies Men Tell)
Special Jury Mention Rita Dominic and Omoni Oboli

Best Student Film – ‘Sodiq’ by Adeyemi Michael

Best Short Film – ‘Adamt’ by Zalem Worldmariam(Ethiopia).
Special Jury Mention – ‘Beleh’ by Eka Christa Assam(Cameroun).

Best Documentary -The Virgin, the Copts and Me.
For its narrative, inspiring way of telling a story in a compelling and interesting way, adding deep might into the subject of film making and historical narratives.

Special Mention – ‘Africa Shafted’.
For it’s beautifully crafted pan African story dealing poetically with a universal subject bringing the human aspect of migration to light.

Jury Special Prize for outstanding film – ‘Virgin Margarida’ by Licinio Azevedo

Close Menu